2011 Superbia

A piece of the series ›Life is no picnic – The 7 deadly sins‹

 

»The oracle Superbia exculpates you from your sins. Superbians are happier people!«

In this orchestral ideological union, which cultivates its high culture through power demonstration and haughtiness, the arrogance of mankind is reflected. Superbias system shows the basic manipulative mechanisms of ideological systems. The power of persuasion that is necessary to prevail ideas and move masses is always a question of attitude. How much haughtiness does one have to show, so that people will follow? This is not about content, it is about control.

 

Premiere: 28. September 2011 // Wagenhallen, Stuttgart

Guest performances:
15. & 16. December 2017 // EinTanzHaus, Mannheim

Next shows:
9., 10. & 11. May 2019 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart // Tickets

 

Nominated for the Dance and Theater Award of Baden-Württemberg 2013

 

 

Dancers: Tonatiuh Diaz/Steven Chotard, Lisa Freudenthal, Isabelle v. Gatterburg, Britta Gemmer, Majon van der Schot/Chloé Beillevaire, Robert Skatulla/Andy Zondag

Musicians: Matthew Bookert, Steffen Dix, Heiko Giering, Henry Kasper, Thorge Pries, Florian Seeger, Boris Stankewitz, Debora Vilchez

Team:
Artistic Direction, Choreography: Nicki Liszta
Executive director: Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Music director, Composition: Heiko Giering
Stage & costumes: Mari-Liis Tigasson, Thomas Unthan
Lighting: Kaspar Wimberley
Graphic design: Simone Knapek

Duration of the piece: ca. 70 minutes

 

Press:

»Also at this evening you’ll have it very quickly, the Nicki Liszta feeling. At the latest when a dancer is sitting on the stage and her head is shorn, you feel the pressure of suffering and wonder whether one can endure what follows. … Being part of it or to get excluded? Liszta makes the choice difficult for her audience. A worth watching evening, perfectly matching to the location Wagenhallen.« Andrea Kachelriess, Stuttgarter Nachrichten, 30. September 2011

»then things pick up speed, increase to the enthralling high-energy dance drama, which alternates between movement abstraction and acting parts. … Finally, the ensemble crouches on all fours in front of the stage panting, awaiting the stars’ salutations in surrender. This is a bizarre-funny as well as oppressive picture, because this dance theater comes very close to you.« Claudia Gassner, Stuttgarter Zeitung, 30. September 2011

»The desire to escape and the accompanying struggle – both internally and physically – is breathtakingly staged. The dance is authentic and raw, the story rousing. With a lot of balance work, body contact parts and a constant change of action choreographer Nicki Liszta creates an adrenalin level of the highest level. Particularly important for the understanding of the story is the music, which is played live and orchestral and even with closed eyes paints a picture of the action for the audience.« Joana Rettig, Mannheimer Morgen, 19. December 2017

 

Funded through the City of Stuttgart, the Landesverband freier Theater Baden-Württemberg e.V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst and the Landesbank Baden-Württemberg. Kindly supported by the Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance Stuttgart.

 

Stadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre LaFT Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Land Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Stiftungen Landesbank Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre

2011 Superbia

Ein Stück der Reihe ›Das Leben ist kein Ponyhof – Die 7 Todsünden‹

 

»Das Orakel Superbia wäscht euch rein von euren Sünden. Superbianer sind glücklichere Menschen!«

In dieser orchestralen ideologischen Vereinigung, die mittels Machtdemonstration und Hochmut ihre Hochkultur pflegt, spiegelt sich die Arroganz der Menschheit. Superbias System zeigt die grundlegenden manipulativen Mechanismen ideologischer Systeme. Die Überzeugungskraft, die nötig ist um Gedankengut durchzusetzen und Massen zu bewegen, ist immer nur eine Frage der Haltung. Wie viel Hochmut muss man an den Tag legen, damit Menschen einem folgen? Dabei geht es nicht um Inhalte, es geht um Kontrolle.

 

Premiere: 28. September 2011 // Wagenhallen, Stuttgart

Gastspiele:
15. & 16. Dezember 2017 // EinTanzHaus, Mannheim

Kommende Termine:
8., 9., 10. & 11. Mai 2019 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart // Karten

 

Nominiert für den Tanz- und Theaterpreises Baden-Württemberg 2013

 

 

Tänzer*innen: Tonatiuh Diaz/Steven Chotard, Lisa Freudenthal, Isabelle v. Gatterburg, Britta Gemmer, Majon van der Schot/Chloé Beillevaire, Robert Skatulla/Andy Zondag

Musiker*innen: Matthew Bookert, Steffen Dix, Heiko Giering, Henry Kasper, Thorge Pries, Florian Seeger, Boris Stankewitz, Debora Vilchez

Team:
Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie: Nicki Liszta
Produktionsleitung: Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Musikalische Leitung, Komposition: Heiko Giering
Bühne & Kostüm: Mari-Liis Tigasson, Thomas Unthan
Lichttechnik, Gastspielbetreuung: Kaspar Wimberley
Grafikdesign: Simone Knapek

Dauer des Stücks: ca. 70 Minuten

 

Presse:

»Es stellt sich auch an diesem Abend sehr schnell ein, das Nicki-Liszta-Gefühl. Spätestens als eine Tänzerin auf der Bühne sitzt und ihr Kopf geschoren wird, spürt man den Leidensdruck und fragt sich, ob man das, was folgt, aushalten mag. … Dazugehören oder ausgegrenzt zurückbleiben? Liszta macht ihrem Publikum die Wahl schwer. Ein sehenswerter Abend, bestens auf den Rahmen der Wagenhallen abgestimmt.« Andrea Kachelriess, Stuttgarter Nachrichten, 30. September 2011

»… dann nimmt die Sache Fahrt auf, steigert sich zum packenden Hochenergie-Tanzdrama, das zwischen Bewegungsabstraktion und Schauspielversatzstücken changiert. … Schliesslich kauert das Ensemble hechelnd auf allen vieren vor der Bühne, in Ergebenheit die Heilsbotschaften des Stars erwartend. Das ist ein so skurril-komisches wie beklemmendes Bild, weil das Tanztheater einem nah auf die Haut rückt.« Claudia Gassner, Stuttgarter Zeitung, 30. September 2011

»Das Entkommen-Wollen und der damit einhergehende Kampf – innerlich wie auch physisch – wird atemberaubend in Szene gesetzt. Authentisch und roh ist der Tanz, mitreißend die Geschichte. Mit viel Gleichgewichtsarbeit, Körperkontakt-Partien und ständigem Wechsel des Handlungsgangs erzeugt Choreografin Nicki Liszta einen Adrenalinspiegel auf höchstem Niveau. Besonders tragend für das Verständnis der Geschichte ist die Musik, die live und orchestral gespielt wird und selbst mit geschlossenen Augen sofort ein Bild des Geschehens für den Zuschauer malt.« Joana Rettig, Mannheimer Morgen, 19. Dezember 2017

 

Gefördert durch die Stadt Stuttgart, dem Landesverband freier Theater Baden-Württemberg e.V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst und der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung vom Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance Stuttgart.

 

Stadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre LaFT Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Land Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Stiftungen Landesbank Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre