Forever Medea

3rd floor 2nd door left

A piece of the series ›Text and Dance‹

Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
Forever Medea | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre
previous
next
Slider
Photos: Valentin Eisele

 

»So basically I can’t complain, not at all. I feel our everyday life here is very structured. And honestly, I must say, you wouldn’t think so, but I’m really good here. They wake me up in the morning and the woman who controls the life signs is incredibly polite. She opens the door, quite discreetly only a slit, and then she says »Good morning.« You wake up with a good feeling. I’ve made myself comfortable here. I will stay forever. It may sound funny, but honestly, I feel strong and somehow immortal, like a goddess. I realized  if I had never given birth to my children, I would never had to kill them.«

Inspired by the myth of Medea, this piece by backsteinhaus produktion presents a modern confrontation with an unimaginable act. In her solo, Nicki Liszta explores the limits of repression, self-determination and liberation.

 

Premiere: 19. June 2014 // OST – Freie Szene im Depot, Stuttgart

 

 

Performance and creation: Nicki Liszta

Musician: Heiko Giering

Artistic directors: Nicki Liszta, Christian Müller, Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Music director and composition: Heiko Giering
Stage and costumes: Valentin Eisele
Executive director: Isabelle Gatterburg
Lighting: Ingo Joos
Video: Dilini C. Keethapongalan, Christian Müller

Duration of the piece: ca. 55 minutes

 

Press:

»Slowly, with uncanny dynamism, the puzzle of a psychosis is put together. Liszta’s co-directors in this dramaturgically great increase were Christian Müller and Isabelle von Gatterburg. Medea’s husband left her, she killed the children and, like the moths at the time, ›let them fly‹ out of the window. But even these cruel details are not the full truth and are surpassed by the terrible facts that are gradually revealed in a frightening maelstrom, in filth, child cries and off-voices.« Angela Reinhardt, 21./22. June 2014, Esslinger Zeitung

»Impressive the continuation of the idea … when the protagonist describes the life in prison in a naive narrative tone, playing down and suppressing it; ›So basically I can’t complain, not at all, I have the feeling that our everyday life here is very structured, I’m really doing well here.‹
The body refuses what the intellect is capable of. In agonizing slowness – Heiko Giering has composed irritating disharmonies for this – this Medea drags and pulls herself across the floor, is unable to rise, every attempt fails. Nicki Liszta shows her artistic strengths in these creative moments of a self-contained soul in a persuasive manner … .« Brigitte Jähnigen, 21. June 2014, Stuttgarter Nachrichten

»Nicki Liszta knows how to use the big stage. Accompanied by the minimalist guitar sounds of Heiko Giering, ›Forever Medea‹ starts in jail. Locked up in a cell marked on the floor, Nicki Liszta crawls through this restricted living space between camp bed and toilet bowl, table and armchair – a desperate attempt to arrange with being locked in.« Adrienne Braun, 21. June 2014, Stuttgarter Zeitung

 

With ›Forever Medea‹ backsteinhaus produktion / nicki liszta & co. continues the series ›Text and Dance‹. Funded through conceptions-subsidies of the City of Stuttgart. Kindly supported by Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance Stuttgart and Teilchenbeschleuniger.

 

Stadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre

Forever Medea

3ter Stock 2te Tür links

Ein Stück der Reihe ›Text und Tanz‹

previous
next
Slider
Fotos: Valentin Eisele

 

»Also im Grunde kann ich mich nicht beklagen, gar nicht, ich hab das Gefühl unser Alltag hier ist sehr strukturiert. Und ich muss ehrlich sagen, das denkt man ja immer nicht, aber mir gehts wirklich gut hier. Ich werde morgens immer geweckt und die Frau, die die Lebendkontrolle macht, ist unglaublich höflich, sie macht die Tür auf, ganz dezent nur einen Spalt breit, und dann ruft sie ›Guten Morgen‹. Da wacht man schon irgendwie mit einem guten Gefühl auf. Gemütlich gemacht hab ich mirs hier, denn ich werde für immer bleiben. Es klingt vielleicht komisch, aber ehrlich gesagt fühle ich mich stark und irgendwie unsterblich, wie eine Göttin. Mir ist klar geworden, wenn ich die Kinder nie geboren hätte, hätte ich sie nie erschlagen müssen.«

Inspiriert vom Mythos Medea zeigt dieses Stück von backsteinhaus produktion eine moderne Auseinandersetzung mit einer unvorstellbaren Tat. Nicki Liszta lotet in ihrem Solo die Grenzen von Verdrängung, Selbstbestimmung und Befreiung aus.

 

Premiere: 19. Juni 2014 // OST – Freie Szene im Depot, Stuttgart

 

 

Performance und Kreation: Nicki Liszta

Musiker: Heiko Giering

Künstlerische Leitung: Nicki Liszta, Christian Müller, Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Musikalische Leitung und Komposition: Heiko Giering
Bühne & Kostüm: Valentin Eisele
Produktionsleitung: Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Licht: Ingo Joos
Video: Dilini C. Keethapongalan, Christian Müller

Dauer des Stücks: ca. 55 Minuten

 

Presse:

»Langsam, mit unheimlicher Dynamik, setzt sich das Puzzle einer Psychose zusammen, Lisztas Co-Regisseure bei dieser dramaturgisch großartigen Steigerung waren Christian Müller und Isabelle von Gatterburg. Medeas Mann hat sie verlassen, sie hat die Kinder getötet und wie die Motten damals ›fliegen gelassen‹, aus dem Fenster. Aber selbst diese grausamen Details sind nicht die volle Wahrheit und werden von den furchtbaren Tatsachen übertroffen, die sich nach und nach in einem beängstigenden Strudel, in Dreck, Kinderschreien und Stimmen aus dem off enthüllen.« Angela Reinhardt, 21./22. Juni 2014, Esslinger Zeitung

»Beeindruckend die Fortschreibung der Idee …, wenn die Protagonistin in naivem Erzählton verharmlosend und verdrängend ihr Leben im Gefängnis beschreibt; ›Also im Grunde kann ich mich nicht beklagen, gar nicht, ich habe das Gefühl unser Alltag hier ist sehr strukturiert, mir geht’s wirklich gut hier‹.
Was der Intellekt vermag, verweigert der Körper. In qualvoller Langsamkeit – Heiko Giering hat dazu aufreizende Disharmonien komponiert – schleift und zieht sich diese Medea über den Boden, ist unfähig, sich zu erheben, jeder Versuch misslingt. In diesen kreatürlichen Momenten einer in sich gefangenen Seele zeigt Nicki Liszta überzeugend ihre künstlerischen Stärken … .« Brigitte Jähnigen, 21. Juni 2014, Stuttgarter Nachrichten

»Nicki Liszta versteht es, die große Bühne souverän zu nutzen. Begleitet von den minimalistischen Gitarrenklängen von Heiko Giering, beginnt ›Forever Medea‹ im Knast. Eingesperrt in einer am Boden markierten Zelle, robbt Nicki Liszta durch diesen beschränkten Lebensraum zwischen Feldbett und Kloschüssel, Tisch und Sessel – ein verzweifeltes sich Arrangieren mit dem Eingesperrtsein.« Adrienne Braun, 21. Juni 2014, Stuttgarter Zeitung

 

Mit ›Forever Medea‹ setzt backsteinhaus produktion / nicki liszta & co. die Reihe ›Text und Tanz‹ fort. Gefördert durch die Konzeptionsförderung der Stadt Stuttgart. Mit freundlicher Unterstüzung durch das Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance Stuttgart und dem Teilchenbeschleuniger.

 

Stadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Produktionszentrum Tanz und Performance | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre