2017 Wolfgang

 

If man fell on his hands, walked as a quadruped, let grow his fur and stood and howled, evolution would have taken a significant step. How much better would the savage, the angry, the left-behind, the humiliated, and the offended be. No hate speech, no hands free for weapons or possessions to grab. He would have a dripping mouth, not to eat his neighbors, but to supply them with food thrown back. So he would finally no longer be a threat and become completely innocent, moving freely across all borders pure of heart.

A piece for a speaker, a conductor, a musician and trucker, a choir, five to six dancers and a child. As wolves, they dance in a Europe, from which they were expelled for a long time. Territorialization, whether cartographic, biologically evolutionary or just in the mind, is an incisive process. backsteinhaus produktion gets on the ball and follows it with soft velvet paws to the limit of its own possibilities. Howling, the wolves drag down the barriers of our thinking and tear at the image of the stranger, the intruder and the frightener. They leave the broken wall behind and show us how peaceful social interaction can be lived harmlessly and safely.

 

Premiere: 12. October 2017 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart

Upcoming shows:
16., 17. & 18. May 2019 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart // Tickets

 

›Wolfgang‹ was invited to Korea for the Seoul International Dance Festival 2018 and selected for the Tanz Yearbook 2018 as one of the seven best pieces about homeland.

 

 

Dance und acting: Chloé Beillevaire, Jean Bermes, Steven Chotard, Giancarlo D’Antonio, Isabelle v. Gatterburg, Heiko Giering, Joscha Halder, Caroline Intrup, Andreia Rodrigues

Team:
Artistic Direction, Choreography: Nicki Liszta
Executive director, Artistic assistant: Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Composition, Music: Heiko Giering
Stage & costumes: Valentin Eisele
Dramaturgy: Caroline Intrup & Martina Grohmann
Video: Christopher Bühler
Intern: Michael Guserle

Duration of the piece: ca. 90 minutes

 

Press:
»… because the choreographer Nicki Liszta rules this carnivore, the spectators can expect an unusual dance theater evening, in which constellations are broken and rules are turned upside down – so intensively that it quickly becomes clear: the wolf is about the wall in our heads, the ability to be awake and changeable rather than lethargic and biased.
Liszta is a master at communicating themes through spatial proximity … cared for by a ›personal performer‹, no one has to be afraid when he finds himself suddenly under wolves. … the dance [maintains] animal sharpness and explores the balance between human gait and wolf gait with aggressive force until evolutionary leaps become painful locomotion. …
Not how we want to live is the question, but how we can live together: Nicki Liszta finds beastly good pictures for the tensions of the time.« Andrea Kachelrieß, Stuttgarter Nachrichten, 14. October 2017

»Don’t feel too cozy: Just sitting and watching is not enough for Nicki Liszta. In the dance-theatrical undertakings of the Stuttgart choreographer you never know exactly what to expect as a spectator. Also ›Wolfgang‹ at the Theater Rampe makes you jump sometimes. …
Despite all doubts sometimes the hope, that we all still have the savage within us, almost rises. In addition to the great ensemble giving everything, Heiko Giering’s live music is an essential part of the exciting evening.« Angela Reinhardt, Eßlinger Zeitung, 14./15. October 2017

»Wolves are lurking on the audience tribune. We would love them if they were just dogs. But wolves wander and don’t respect borders. We only know them from afar. That’s our fear. Now we’re even supposed to take them in: ›Crossbreed wolves, a little bit of Arctic Wolf, a little bit Arabian,‹ praises the voice. The wolf pack pounces on us – dancers as wolves as refugees, ›on whom we use firearms if necessary.‹ There is a shot. In the leg. There is singing.
We love our homeland, the folkloric evenings. Not the traditional ones, but the folkloric evenings, which unite us against the construction of the highway. Or against refugees. In a non-contact duo, neither dancer allows a step to pass the other. This free Stuttgart production of Nicki Liszta shows neither refugees nor wolves, but points to us, the audience. I believe: Our fear is our home.« Arnd Wesemann, Tanz Yearbook 2018

 

Realized in cooperation with the Theater Rampe in the line of the three-year collaboration ›Rampe tanzt!‹. Funded through conceptions-subsidies of the Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e.V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg and the City of Stuttgart and kindly supported by Stiftung der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg.
The guest performance at the Seoul International Dance Festival was made possible by the kind support of the Goethe Institute and the City of Stuttgart.

 

Theater Rampe | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre LaFT Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Stiftungen Landesbank Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLand Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreStadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreGoethe Institut | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre

2017 Wolfgang

 

Wenn der Mensch auf die Hände fiele, als Vierfüßler ginge, sich sein Fell stehen ließe und heulte, so wäre evolutionär ein bedeutender Schritt getan. Wieviel besser wäre der Wilde, der zornige, der Abgehängte, der Erniedrigte und Beleidigte dann. Keine Hatespeech, keine Hände frei für Waffen oder Besitz an sich zu raffen. Ein tropfendes Maul hätte er, nicht seine Nächsten zu fressen, sondern sie mit zurückgewürgter Nahrung zu versorgen. So wäre er endlich kein Gefährder mehr und bewegte sich völlig unschuldig, frei über alle Grenzen hinweg und wäre reinen Herzens.

Ein Stück für eine Sprecherin, einen Dirigenten, einen Musiker und Trucker, einen Chor, fünf bis sechs Tänzer*innen und ein Kind. Als Wölfe tanzen sie in ein Europa zurück, aus dem sie für lange Zeit vertrieben waren. Territorialisierung, ob kartografisch, biologisch evolutionär oder einfach nur in den Köpfen, ist ein einschneidender Vorgang. backsteinhaus produktion rückt diesem Vorgang auf den Leib und folgt ihm mit leisen Samtpfoten bis zur Grenze der eigenen Möglichkeiten. Heulend zerren die Wölfe an den Schranken unseres Denkens und reißen am Bild des Fremden, des Eindringlings und des Angstmachenden. Einsturzgefährdet lassen sie die Mauer zurück und zeigen uns, wie friedliches und soziales Miteinander harmlos und gefahrlos gelebt werden kann.

 

Premiere: 12. Oktober 2017 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart

Kommende Termine:
18. Oktober 2018 // Seoul International Dance Festival, Korea
16., 17. & 18. Mai 2019 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart // Karten

 

›Wolfgang‹ wurde zum Seoul International Dance Festival 2018 nach Korea eingeladen und für das Tanz Jahrbuch 2018 von der Redaktion als eines der sieben besten Heimatstücke ausgewählt.

 

 

Tanz und Schauspiel: Chloé Beillevaire, Jean Bermes, Steven Chotard, Giancarlo D’Antonio, Isabelle v. Gatterburg, Heiko Giering, Joscha Halder, Caroline Intrup, Andreia Rodrigues

Team:
Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie: Nicki Liszta
Produktionsleitung, Künstlerische Assistenz: Isabelle v. Gatterburg
Komposition, Musik: Heiko Giering
Bühne & Kostüm: Valentin Eisele
Dramaturgie: Caroline Intrup & Martina Grohmann
Video: Christopher Bühler
Hospitanz: Michael Guserle

Dauer des Stücks: ca. 90 Minuten

 

Presse:
»… weil die Choreografin Nicki Liszta über dieses Raubtiergehege herrscht, erwartet die Zuschauer ein ungewöhnlicher Tanztheaterabend, bei dem Konstellationen aufgebrochen und Regeln auf den Kopf gestellt werden – so intensiv, dass schnell klar wird: Mit dem Wolf geht es um die Mauer in unseren Köpfen, um die Fähigkeit, wach und wandelbar zu sein statt träge und voreingenommen.
Liszta ist eine Meisterin darin, Themen durch räumliche Nähe zu vermitteln … von einer ›persönlichen Performerin‹ betreut, muss sich niemand fürchten, wenn er plötzlich unter Wölfen ist. … der Tanz [behält] animalische Schärfe und lotet die Balance zwischen Menschen- und Wolf-Gang mit aggressiver Wucht aus, bis Evolutionssprünge zur schmerzhaften Fortbewegung werden. …
Nicht wie wir leben wollen, ist die Frage, sondern wie wir Zusammenleben können: Nicki Liszta findet für die Spannungen der Zeit tierisch gute Bilder.« Andrea Kachelrieß, Stuttgarter Nachrichten, 14. Oktober 2017

»Macht’s euch nicht zu gemütlich: Nur Dasitzen und Zugucken reicht bei Nicki Liszta nicht. Bei den tanztheatralischen Unternehmungen der Stuttgarter Choreografin weiß man nie so genau, was als Zuschauer auf einen zukommt. Auch bei ›Wolfgang‹ im Theater Rampe zieht man ab und zu vor Schreck den Kopf ein. …
Trotz aller Zweifel keimt manchmal fast die Hoffnung, dass wir alle das Wilde noch in uns haben. Neben dem großartigen, an sämtliche Grenzen gehenden Ensemble macht Heiko Gierings Live-Musik einen wesentlichen Teil des spannenden Abends aus.« Angela Reinhardt, Eßlinger Zeitung, 14./15. Oktober 2017

»Auf dem Zuschauerpodest gegenüber lauern Wölfe. Wir würden sie lieben, wären sie nur Hunde. Aber Wölfe wandern und respektieren keine Grenzen. Man kennt sie nur aus der Ferne. Davor haben wir Angst. Jetzt sollen wir sie auch noch bei uns aufnehmen: ›Mischlingswölfe, ein bisschen Polarwolf, ein bisschen arabisch‹, preist die Stimme. Das Wolfsrudel stürzt sich auf uns – Tänzer als Wölfe als Flüchtlinge, ›bei denen wir notfalls von der Schusswaffe Gebrauch machen‹. Es wird geschossen. Ins Bein. Es wird gesungen.
Wir lieben Heimat, den Heimatabend. Nicht den traditionellen, sondern den Heimatabend, der uns zusammenschließt gegen den Bau der Autobahn. Oder gegen Flüchtlinge. In einem berührungslosen Duo erlaubt keiner der beiden Tänzer einen Schritt am anderen vorbei. Diese freie Stuttgarter Produktion von Nicki Liszta zeigt weder Flüchtlinge noch Wölfe, sondern zeigt auf uns, das Publikum. Ich denke: Unsere Angst ist unsere Heimat.« Arnd Wesemann, Rubrik: Daheim, Tanz Jahrbuch 2018

 

Realisiert in Kooperation mit dem Theater Rampe im Rahmen der dreijährigen Kollaboration ›Rampe tanzt!‹. Gefördert im Rahmen der Konzeptionsförderung durch den Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e.V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg sowie von der Stadt Stuttgart und unterstützt durch die Stiftung der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg.
Das Gastspiel beim Seoul International Dance Festival wurde ermöglicht durch die freundliche Unterstützung des Goethe Instituts und der Stadt Stuttgart.

 

Theater Rampe | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLaFT Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreStiftungen Landesbank Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLand Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreStadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreGoethe Institut | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre