2018 Platonia

 

Simple maths is providing the right path / glittering and decorated with laugh / walk it through and you will glow / forever in the natures flow

According to safety regulations, 3.6 persons are allowed on one square meter of earth. 10 billion people are already predicted by the year 2100. It’ll be tight in this world.

The lust for life becomes fatality to the world as to humankind, susceptibility becomes our own noose. Out of great love for life, backsteinhaus produktion creates a counterconcept and is passionately devoted to purely organic material disposal. ›Platonia‹ understands the order of the world as a balancing act between ecosystem and human impact.
As a mouthpiece for the planet, ›Platonia‹ recounts how intimacy can be practiced gently and living together is made sustainable – for diversity in nature, for climate protection and self-regulated food chains. This makes our misanthropic heart beat faster and our conscience become pure. So we finally defy the deficient reality and take to the theater the idea of an ​​ideal world. Self-determined and enlightened, we go the path of the only way out. Not depressed and not excessive. The elimination of errors takes place in peaceful coexistence, self-responsible and courageous. Rationality is the essence of salvation.
Following the thoughts of a woman in her thirties, between the desire of having a child but not leaving more footprints, raises the question of whether her personal decision could be a solution for the entire planet. Out of this world of ideas unfolds the grotesque landscape of a civilization on demand, which leads us into a future of radical overpopulation and the platonic ideal of residue-free life and love.
›Platonia‹ follows the trail of this romantic idea and its absurd and fantastic development – and celebrates life.

 

Premiere: 6. June 2018 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart

Guest performance: 27. October 2018 // EinTanzHaus, Mannheim // Tickets

Upcoming shows: 31. January / 01., 02., 27. & 28. February / 01. & 02. March 2019 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart // Tickets

 

 

Performer: Steven Chotard, Ariel Cohen, Isabelle Gatterburg, Martin Mauriès

Team:
Artistic Direction, Choreography: Nicki Liszta
Executive director, Artistic assistant: Isabelle Gatterburg
Composition, Music: Heiko Giering
Stage design: Nina Malotta and Samuel Hof
Costume design: Nina Malotta and Rebecca Moltenbrey
Dramaturgy: Tobias Tönjes
Video: Christopher Bühler

Duration of the piece: ca. 60 minutes

 

Press:
»The black-humorous prelude to ›Platonia‹ the new piece by choreographer Nicki Liszta for backsteinhaus produktion, in the foyer of the Rampe Theater hit home. Like what followed on stage: While the audience sat down, the suicide artist threw herself in backbends and twists, as if it were about life and death. It did, about humanity and the earth. How the overpopulation lets the the planet gasping for air, was shown on two screens. … It is strong stuff – and a highly explosive and indispensable for the discussion, which is grandiose and consistently without moral finger pointing brought on stage by the backsteinhaus artists. That’s exactly why it gets under your skin.« Petra Mostbacher-Dix, Stuttgarter Zeitung, 8. June 2018

»The piece ›Platonia‹ by the Stuttgart choreographer Nicki Liszta at Theater Rampe  is negotiating  with sober cynicism, dark and frightening the colossal overpopulation and waste of resources . … In addition to unusually comforting hugs, the rather brutal dance Nicki Lisztas shows the pure physical attack against the lunacy of existence. The eerily swirling sounds of dripping water, which Heiko Giering is creating on his computer, rise to threatening rhythms through piano music and paradisiacal harmonies.« Angela Reinhardt, Eßlinger Zeitung, 15. June 2018

»… ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ from Stuttgart … is launching a new production in Theater Rampe:  ›Platonia‹, ›Physical theater‹ at its best. Nicki Liszta, the leader of the group founded in 2008, has developed a choreography on the subject of the overpopulation of the earth, which works with the elements of water and light. … Exciting how Nicki Liszta perseveres this theme and drives her four-strong dance ensemble into ever new rebounds. Acrobatic and with great speed, Steven Chotard and Martin Mauriès move through the room with a lot of ground contact and a lot of physical effort: … expressing a power that emanates optimism. … Finally, a utopian space develops. … A strong image in the coproducing Theater Rampe.« Manfred Jahnke, Deutsche Bühne, 7. June 2018

 

Realized in cooperation with the Theater Rampe in the line of the three-year collaboration ›Rampe tanzt!‹. Funded through conceptions-subsidies of the Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e.V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg and the City of Stuttgart and the Fonds Darstellende Künste.

 

Theater Rampe | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreFond Daku | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLaFT Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLand Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Stadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre

2018 Platonia

 

Simple maths is providing the right path / glittering and decorated with laugh / walk it through and you will glow / forever in the natures flow

Laut Sicherheitsbestimmung dürfen sich 3,6 Personen auf einem Quadratmeter Erdfläche aufhalten. 10 Milliarden Menschen sind bis zum Jahr 2100 bereits prognostiziert. Es wird eng auf dieser Welt.

Die Lust am Leben wird Welt wie Mensch zum Verhängnis, Empfänglichkeit zur eigenen Schlinge. Aus großer Liebe zum Leben holen wir zum Gegenentwurf aus und geben uns leidenschaftlich der rein organischen Materialbeseitigung hin. ›Platonia‹ begreift die Weltordnung als einen Balanceakt zwischen Ökosystem und menschlicher Einwirkung.
Als Sprachrohr für den Planeten erzählt ›Platonia‹ wie Nähe schonend praktiziert und das Zusammenleben nachhaltig gestaltet wird – für Vielfalt in der Natur, für Klimaschutz und selbstregulierte Nahrungsketten. Das lässt unser misanthropisches Herz höher schlagen und unser Gewissen rein werden. So trotzen wir endlich der unzulänglichen Wirklichkeit und tragen die Vorstellung von idealer Welt ins Theater. Selbstbestimmt und erleuchtet gehen wir den Pfad des einzigen Auswegs. Nicht depressiv und nicht exzessiv. Die Fehlerbeseitigung erfolgt im friedlichen Miteinander, eigenverantwortlich und couragiert. Die Vernunft ist das Wesen der Rettung.
Den Gedanken einer Frau in ihren Dreißigern folgend, keimt, zwischen Kinderwunsch und dem dringlichen Vorsatz nicht noch mehr Fußabdrücke schaffen zu wollen, die Frage auf, ob ihre persönliche Entscheidung auch eine Lösung für den ganzen Planeten sein könnte. Aus dieser Gedankenwelt heraus entfaltet sich die groteske Landschaft einer Zivilisation auf Abruf, die uns in eine Zukunft radikaler Überbevölkerung und dem platonischen Ideal rückstandslosen Lebens und Liebens führt.
›Platonia‹ macht sich auf die Spur dieser romantischen Idee und ihrer absurden und fantastischen Ausprägungen – und feiert das Leben.

 

Premiere: 6. Juni 2018 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart

Gastspiel: 27. Oktober 2018 // EinTanzHaus, Mannheim // Karten

Weitere Termine: 31. Januar / 01., 02., 27. & 28. Februar / 01. & 02. März 2019 // Theater Rampe, Stuttgart // Karten

 

 

Darsteller*innen: Steven Chotard, Ariel Cohen, Isabelle Gatterburg, Martin Mauriès

Team:
Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie: Nicki Liszta
Produktionsleitung, Künstlerische Assistenz: Isabelle Gatterburg
Komposition, Musik: Heiko Giering
Bühne: Nina Malotta und Samuel Hof
Kostüm: Nina Malotta und Rebecca Moltenbrey
Dramaturgie: Tobias Tönjes
Video: Christopher Bühler

Dauer des Stücks: ca. 60 Minuten

 

Presse

»Der schwarzhumorige Auftakt zu ›Platonia‹, dem neuen Stück der Choreografin Nicki Liszta für Backsteinhaus Produktion, im Foyer des Theaters Rampe saß. Auch das, was auf der Bühne folgte: Noch während die Zuschauer sich platzierten, schmiss sich die Selbstmordkünstlerin in Rückbeugen und Drehungen, als ob es um Leben und Tod ginge. Das tat es, um Menschheit und Erde. Wie ihr die Überbevölkerung die Luft abschnürt, zeigten zwei Leuchttafeln. … Es ist starker Tobak – und ein höchst brisanter und für die Diskussion unerlässlicher, den die Backsteinhaus-Künstler hier grandios wie konsequent ohne moralischen Zeigefinger darbieten. Genau deshalb geht er unter die Haut.« Petra Mostbacher-Dix, Stuttgarter Zeitung, 8. Juni 2018

»Die kolossale Überbevölkerung und Ressourcenverschwendung verhandelt im Theater Rampe das Stück ›Platonia‹ der Stuttgarter Choreografin Nicki Liszta mit nüchternem Zynismus, dunkel und beängstigend. … Neben ungewohnt tröstlichen Umarmungen zeigt der ziemlich brutale Tanz Nicki Lisztas das pure körperliche Anrennen gegen den Irrsinn der Existenz. Die unheimlich wabernden Geräusche vertröpfelnden Wassers, die Heiko Giering von seinen Computerpulten zusteuert, steigern sich über Klaviermusik und paradiesische Harmonien zu bedrohlichen Rhythmen.« Angela Reinhardt, Eßlinger Zeitung, 15. Juni 2018

»… ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ aus Stuttgart … bringt … mit Furore eine neue Produktion im Theater Rampe heraus: ›Platonia‹, ›Physical theatre‹ vom Feinsten. Nicki Liszta, die Leiterin der 2008 gegründeten Gruppe, entwickelt zum Thema Überbevölkerung der Erde eine Choreographie, die mit den Elementen Wasser und Licht arbeitet. … Spannend, wie Nicki Liszta dieses Thema durchhält und ihr vierköpfiges Tanzensemble in immer neue Volten treibt. Akrobatisch und mit großer Schnelligkeit bewegen sich Steven Chotard und Martin Mauriès durch den Raum mit viel Bodenberührung und starkem körperlichen Einsatz: … Ausdruck einer Kraft, die Optimismus ausstrahlt. … Zum Schluss hin entwickelt sich ein utopischer Raum. … Ein starkes Bild im koproduzierenden Theater Rampe.« Manfred Jahnke, Deutsche Bühne, 7. Juni 2018

 

Realisiert in Kooperation mit dem Theater Rampe im Rahmen der dreijährigen Kollaboration ›Rampe tanzt!‹. Gefördert im Rahmen der Konzeptionsförderung durch den Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e.V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg sowie der Stadt Stuttgart und dem Fonds Darstellende Künste.

 

Theater Rampe | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreFond Daku | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLaFT Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance TheatreLand Baden-Württemberg | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre Stadt Stuttgart | backsteinhaus produktion | Tanztheater // Physical Theatre // Dance Theatre