backsteinhaus produktion

Dance Theatre // Physical Theatre

Nicki Liszta founded ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ during her studies in 2005. Since 2008 the team consisting of the composer and musician Heiko Giering and the dancer and project manager Isabelle Gatterburg has been working together with the choreographer Nicki Liszta in Stuttgart. Different artists complete the team for each production.

The individual and recognizable signature of ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ is the creation of absurd worlds with an authentic and real aesthetic. The work is located at the interface between contemporary dance and theater and focuses on the performers with their diversity. The pieces always give a taste of the contradictory nature of the worlds in which we live. The dark side of the individual and the community is related to current affairs.

Reduced to specific social, physical and spatial conditions, the pieces create their own cosmos. Whether in the black box, as well as in the development at non-theater-spaces, ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ realizes dance theatre which illuminates the absurdity and grotesquerie of our interstices.

From 2016-2019 ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ is working in cooperation with Theater Rampe in Stuttgart and is funded till 2018 through conception-subsidies from the Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e.V. with means of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts as well as from 2017-2019 through conception-subsidies of the City of Stuttgart.

 

 

Awards

Nominated for the George Tabori Sponsorship Award 2018
Dance- and Theater Award Baden-Württemberg 2015 | ›Absent‹
Nominated for the Dance- and Theater Award Baden-Württemberg 2013 | ›Superbia‹
Nominated for the StuttgartTheater Award 2010 | ›Avatar‹
Stuttgart Theater Award 2008 | ›zwischen häuten‹

 

Excerpt of the jury statement for the Nomination
for the George Tabori Sponsorship Award 2018

»Characteristic for the works of the company is an idiosyncratic and interdisciplinary aesthetic language on the border of dance and theater.
backsteinhaus produktion stands for the ruthless and radical realization of their themes, which is also very physically characterized by the sheer force of the performer’s movement. Their venues are often unconventional, beyond the usual theater stage. They take the realities and situations of their performers as the starting point for their work. Due to this the productions of backsteinhaus produktion have a high degree of authenticity and richness of detail without being blatant or simplifying. They create wonderful images of highly political theater based on clever and intelligent concepts: in the presence of the place-less bodies, they fill real spaces with movements that are extremely lively.
In the sensitive tracking of their time, they very often anticipate future social issues and developments in their work. All this the jury considers extremely remarkable.«

backsteinhaus produktion

Tanztheater // Physical Theatre

Nicki Liszta gründete noch während ihrer Studienzeit 2005 die Kompanie ›backsteinhaus produktion‹. Seit 2008 arbeitet das Team, bestehend aus dem Komponisten und Musiker Heiko Giering und der Tänzerin und Projektleiterin Isabelle Gatterburg zusammen mit der Choreografin Nicki Liszta in Stuttgart. Unterschiedliche Künstler*innen ergänzen das Team zu jeder Produktion.

Die individuelle und wiedererkennbare Handschrift von ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ ist die Erschaffung absurder Welten mit einer authentischen, realen Ästhetik. Die Arbeit befindet sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen zeitgenössischem Tanz und Theater und stellt die Darsteller*innen mit ihrer Diversität in den Fokus. Die dunkle Seite des Individuums und der Gemeinschaft wird in Beziehung zum aktuellen Zeitgeschehen gesetzt, wodurch die Stücke immer etwas von der Widersprüchlichkeit der Welten zeigen, in denen wir leben.

Reduziert auf konkrete soziale, körperliche und räumliche Gegebenheiten, lassen die Stücke jeweils einen eigenen Kosmos entstehen. Ob in der Blackbox, wie auch bei der Erschließung theaterferner Räume realisiert ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ Tanztheater, das die Absurdität und Groteskerie unserer Zwischenräume beleuchtet.

2016-2019 arbeitet ›backsteinhaus produktion‹ in Kooperation mit dem Theater Rampe in Stuttgart und erhielt seit 2010 Konzeptionsförderung welche seit 2018 durch die Institutionelle Förderung der Stadt Stuttgart ersetzt wird.

 

 

Auszeichnungen

Nominierung für den George Tabori Förderpreis 2018
Tanz- und Theaterpreises Baden-Württemberg 2015 | ›Absent‹
Nominierung für den Tanz- & Theaterpreises Baden-Württemberg 2013 | ›Superbia‹
Nominierung für den Stuttgarter Theaterpreis 2010 | ›Avatar‹
Stuttgarter Theaterpreis 2008 | ›zwischen häuten‹

 

Aus der Jurybegründung zur Nominierung
für den George Tabori Förderpreis 2018

»Charakteristisch für die Arbeiten der Kompanie ist eine eigenwillige und interdisziplinäre Formsprache an der Grenze von Tanz und Theater.
backsteinhaus produktion steht für die schonungslose und radikale Umsetzung ihrer Themen, die auch sehr physisch von der puren Wucht der Bewegung ihrer Darsteller*innen gekennzeichnet ist. Ihre Schauplätze sind oft unkonventionelle Aufführungsorte, jenseits des gewohnten Bühnenformats. Sie nehmen die Gegebenheiten und Situationen ihrer Darsteller*innen zum Ausgangspunkt ihrer Arbeit, nicht nur dadurch weisen die Produktionen von backsteinhaus produktion einen hohen Grad an Authentizität und Detailreichtum auf, ohne plakativ zu sein. Sie kreieren wunderbare Bilder von hochpolitischem Theater, das kluge und intelligente Konzepte zur Grundlage hat: In der Gegenwart der ortlosen Körper, füllen sie reale Räume mit bis ins Äußerste lebendigen Bewegungen.
Im sensiblen Nachspüren ihrer Zeit nehmen sie in ihren Arbeiten sehr häufig zukünftige gesellschaftliche Themen und Entwicklungen vorweg. All dies erachtet die Jury als überaus bemerkenswert.«